MLB Awards 2019

Photo by OC Register

Most Valuable Players and Cy Young Winners 2019


By David A. Avila


Southern California ended up with both Most Valuable Player award winners as Mike Trout grabbed the American League MVP plaque and Cody Bellinger took the National League trophy.

Los Angeles Angel outfielder Trout was voted MVP for the third time in his sparkling career. Though he missed several weeks due to injury he accomplished enough during the 2019 season to convince the Baseball Writers Association he was more valuable than Houston Astro third baseman Alex Bregman.

Most baseball experts consider Trout the greatest player today and some even take it further and say he is the best to ever play the game. His ability to produce despite playing with a team that has not participated in the playoffs in many years shows that the Angel outfielder is truly in a league of his own in terms of ability.

In 145 games Trout hit 45 homers with 104 RBIs while batting .291 in 470 at bats. His OPS was an MLB leading 1.083. His rival this year for the MVP was Bregman who hit 41 homers with 112 RBIs in a stacked lineup. His OPS was 1.015. a category that mixes slugging with on-base percentage.

Trout gained 17 of 30 first place votes by the writers and had a total of 355 points. Bregman had 335 points. Oakland A’s shortstop Marcus Semien finished third in the AL voting.

In the National League voting Los Angeles Dodger outfielder Bellinger received his first MVP award after a strong season to beat out Milwaukee outfield Christian Yelich.

Bellinger belted 47 homers with 115 RBIs while batting .305. The lanky outfielder also proved to be one of the best defensive outfielders in the Major Leagues and had an OPS of 1.035 that was second to Yelich who led the National League in that category with a 1.100. It was another stat WAR (Wins Above Replacement) that Bellinger led at 9.0 to Yelich at 7.1 that proved to be the difference in voting.

An injury to Yelich in early September cinched the award for Bellinger who had battled the Brewers outfielder all year statistically neck and neck. Bellinger received 19 first place votes out of 30.


Cy Young

This year’s winners saw Justin Verlander win the AL award and Jacob DeGrom take the NL version.

Houston Astro fire baller Justin Verlander eked out the win over teammate Gerrit Cole to finally win another Cy Young award after multiple near misses. The right-hander won 21 games and a 2.48 ERA and fanned 300 batters. He also had the lowest WHIP (Walks, Hits allowed in Innings Pitched) in the American League at 0.80. Cole had a WHIP of 0.89. 

Verlander was voted first by 17 writers Cole 13.

The last time Verlander won a Cy Young was in 2011 while pitching for Detroit Tigers organization. He came close in 2018, and in 2016.   

In the National League the NY Mets pitcher DeGrom won for the second consecutive year though Los Angeles Dodger lefty Hyun-jin Ryu led the NL in ERA at 2.32. DeGrom sports an ERA of 2.43. In this age of super stats most voters who tally up stat lines do not understand that ERA is the most important of all stats when it comes to pitching.

DeGrom benefits from the over-abundance of East Coast newspaper writers that are more inclined to vote for a pitcher they are more familiar with seeing. The New York pitcher received a ridiculous 29 of 30 votes. Ryu received only one vote.